Employees shall not be required to work, and shall suffer no loss of pay or benefits, on any of the following University holidays:

  1. New Years Day
  2. Family Day
  3. Good Friday
  4. Victoria Day
  5. Canada Day
  6. Saskatchewan Day
  7. Labour Day
  8. Thanksgiving Day
  9. Remembrance Day
  10. Christmas Day
  11. Boxing Day


Should any of these holidays fall on a Saturday or Sunday, the University shall declare an alternative day as the holiday. This will normally be the Friday preceding or the Monday following the holiday.


When an Employee is required by the employer to perform work on the holiday, the Employee shall receive time in lieu in the amount of one and one half (1.5) times for the actual hours worked on any of these days.


When the University is closed between December 25 and January 1, employees will be given time off without loss of pay and without any requirement to use any additional leave. If, due to the requirements of the appointment, the employee must work during this period, she shall be given equivalent time off for all time worked at a future, mutually agreeable date.