All employees shall be entitled to six weeks annual vacation which shall normally be taken between regular academic terms of the University. Arrangements may be made to take all or part of the vacation entitlement at another time of the year provided that the absence does not conflict with the employee's normal duties. Salary shall not be paid in lieu of unused vacation time, and, under normal circumstances, an employee shall not be allowed to accumulate vacation entitlement from one year to the next.  Employees must notify their Department Heads or Deans of their summer programs in order to arrange the time of their vacations.


Instructors and Lecturers will be entitled to a six-week unbroken block of vacation in either spring session or summer session, or arrangements may be made to take all or part of the vacation entitlement at another time of the year.


The parties recognize the following paid holidays: 

  • New Year's Day       
  • Family Day      
  • Good Friday          
  • Victoria Day         
  • Canada Day     
  • Saskatchewan Day          
  • Labour Day
  • Thanksgiving Day 
  • Remembrance Day
  • Christmas Day
  • Boxing Day

For those holidays which fall on either Saturday or Sunday and for which no alternate day is proclaimed by Government, the parties shall designate an alternate day, other than Saturday or Sunday, as the paid holiday.  The selection of the alternate day shall be by agreement at the Joint Committee for the Management of the Agreement.  Where an alternate day as selected above is not appropriate for a particular employee, that employee is entitled to make an arrangement with the Department Head or Dean to take a different day as the employee's paid holiday.